home navigation bar lessons navigation bar scales navigation bar riffs navigation bar tuner navigation bar links gear navigation bar game navigation bar
Home > Guitar Scales > Pentatonic Scales

Free Pentatonic Scale Lessons

Pentatonic Scale means 5 note scale. Since there are 5 notes in the Pentatonic Scale every 5th note, starting from a root note, is a root note. The root note is the key that the Pentatonic Scale will be played in. For example in the G Minor Pentatonic Scale all "G" notes are root notes.

Pentatonic Scales can be broken up into patterns and shown on a Guitar Neck Diagram. Once you know the patterns you can play Pentatonic Scales in any key because the patterns are moveable.


The Minor Pentatonic Scale is one of the most popular guitar scales especially with Blues Guitar and Rock Guitar. If you are interested in playing Lead Guitar or Soloing then learn these patterns and learn to play guitar!


  Get email updates when I post a new Pentatonic Scale.


Minor Pentatonic

Major Pentatonic

  • A Major Pentatonic
  • C Major Pentatonic
  • C# Major Pentatonic
  • D Major Pentatonic
  • Eb Major Pentatonic
  • E Major Pentatonic
  • F Major Pentatonic
  • F# Major Pentatonic
  • G Major Pentatonic
  • G# Major Pentatonic

Blues Pentatonic

Neutral Pentatonic

  • A Neutral Pentatonic
  • Bb Neutral Pentatonic
  • C Neutral Pentatonic
  • C# Neutral Pentatonic
  • D Neutral Pentatonic
  • Eb Neutral Pentatonic
  • E Neutral Pentatonic
  • F Neutral Pentatonic
  • F# Neutral Pentatonic
  • G Neutral Pentatonic
  • G# Neutral Pentatonic