home navigation bar lessons navigation bar scales navigation bar riffs navigation bar tuner navigation bar videos navigation bar gear navigation bar game navigation bar
Home > Guitar Scales > D Major Scale

D Major Scale


Screamin' web only deals at


Here's the D Major Scale or Ionian Scale. The notes of the D Major scale are D, E, F#, G, A, B and C#. Play the notes in that order and you have played an D Major scale. The guitar neck diagram shows you the big picture for the D Major Scale. It shows you all positions of the scale. The red dots indicate a root note and the black dots indicate a note in the scale. All of the root notes are "D" because this is the D Major Scale.

The D Major Scale can be divided into patterns. Any Major Scale can be divided into patterns. Roll your mouse over the pattern number below to see what the pattern looks like.

All the patterns of the Major Scale are moveable. That means that once you've learned all 5 patterns all you have to do is shift the patterns up or down depending on what key you want to play. To play the Major Scale in a certain key first locate the root note and use pattern 1 as your reference point.

To hear each pattern check out the free D Major Scale Tab page (Coming Soon). On this page there are easy to follow tabs along with audio at three different speeds.

The Major Scale is the building block for which most scales are based on. Learn all 5 patterns of the Major Scale and learn to play the guitar!


  Previous Major Scale Next Major Scale  
previous C# Major Eb Major next

Check Out Another Major Scale!
A Bb B C C# D Eb E F F# G G#

speakerFull Audio & Tabs For Major Scales! (Coming Soon)
A Bb B C C# D Eb E F F# G G#

See all Guitar Scales





Post Your Comments Here



captcha Enter Code Here